Assistant Tax Assessor
(609) 492-0111 ext 208
EFFECTIVE MARCH 16, 2020
THE TAX ASSESSOR WILL NOT BE CONDUCTING IN-PERSON APPOINTMENTS UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. PHONE/EMAIL APPOINTMENTS ONLY.
The Assessor’s office is open Wednesdays from 10:00 am-4:00 pm. The Assessor has office hours on Wednesdays from 5:15 pm-8:15 pm and Saturdays by appointment only. Tax map, assessment list, and property tax deductions are all available at this time.
The Beach Haven Borough Tax Assessor is governed by State Law and regulated by the Division of Taxation and overseen by County Tax Administration. It is the Assessor’s statutory duty to maintain and establish fair and equitable determination of value, known as tax assessments, for all real property within the Borough.
The Tax Assessor performs periodic re-assessments to make sure that assessments are reflecting current market value. The last Borough assessment was performed in 2016 for the 2017 tax year. Between assessment years, the market to assessed values are determined by the New Jersey Board of Taxation. Beach Haven Borough’s current ratio for 2018 is 99.07%.
Every year, on or before February 14, postcards are mailed stating your current assessment and the tax dollar amount (based on that amount). If you disagree with your tax amount, there are instructions on the reverse side of the card for the appeal process. Forms and instructions for filing can be obtained by contacting The Ocean County Board of Taxation, (732) 929-2008. Assessment appeals must be filed by April 1st of the current year with the County Board of Taxation. Appeals for added or omitted assessments must be filed by December 1st of the current year.
For more helpful information on the appeal process, on the http://www.tax.co.ocean.nj.us/.
Deductions and Exemptions
Tax deductions and exemptions are granted only by provision of the New Jersey Constitution or by general law. At present, deductions and exemptions granted by constitutional provision concern property of war veterans and their surviving spouses; senior citizens, disabled persons and their surviving spouses.
Veterans & Surviving Spouses of Veteran Deduction
The New Jersey Constitution authorizes an annual $250 deduction from the real property taxes. To qualify for the annual $250 Real Property Tax Deduction, a claimant must meet requirements of citizenship, property ownership, residency, active wartime service in U.S. Armed Force, and honorable discharge. You can find a printable version of the form https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/lpt/vss.pdf
Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons, Surviving Spouses
To qualify for this annual $250 real property tax deduction, a claimant must meet requirements such as citizenship, residency, ownership, income limit, age, 100% disability, and/or widowhood. Find the printable version of the https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/lpt/ptd.pdf
Qualified NJ resident war veterans or their surviving spouses having certain service-connected disabilities described in the law or having been declared totally or 100% permanently disabled by the U.S. Veterans’ Administration (VA) are granted full tax exemption on their home.
To qualify for real estate tax exemption, the disabled war veteran must meet requirements such as citizenship, residency, ownership, active wartime service in the U.S. Armed Forces, honorable discharge, and VA certified 100% permanent and total disability. Find the printable version of the https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/lpt/dvsse.pdf